Gotye’s All-Time Great Rebound Song

I just happened to hear this song called Somebody That I Used To Know by Gotye and it was stuck in my head all day.

Now this is the more waaaay more popular cover by Walk off the Earth.  I don’t know how they even came up with idea of  performing it this way.

I usually give the lion’s share of the credit to creators, but Walk off the Earth has the better version.  Sorry, Gotye.  😦

Anyway, this is Gotye’s original version.  Nothing to hang his head about.  I do think he owes Peter Gabriel and Sting a check each for the style swipe.  Still, it’s a very cool song.

Author: therealkenjones

writer, artist, wannabe photographer, recovering Southern Californian...

3 thoughts on “Gotye’s All-Time Great Rebound Song”

    1. I never realized it was a cover. I thought that WAS the song. Then I heard the actual song on the radio and, while I think Gotye’s a better vocalist, I still had to stick with the remake as the better overall version.

  1. Last night was the first time I’d ever heard either version. Both are compelling performances.

What do you think?

